Prague: The Architecture

I found the architecture of Prague to be fascinating and quite different from Salzburg and other more Western European countries I have been to. There is every time period and style from Romanesque to Art Noveau to Cubist. Here are some features I found attractive in the city, beginning with my new favourite building: the Schwarzenberg Palace. Built in the 16th century, it is now home to the National Gallery of Prague, though I only viewed the outside.

img_4765img_4770img_4758img_4775

One of the features I appreciated the most architecturally were the doors of Prague. Each one was unique with beautiful colours, designs, and handles.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Another feature I noticed was how the buildings were painted: bright colours and patterns were the theme. Yellow seemed to be the most used colour, which matched beautifully with the red roofs and helped make the city seem brighter even with gray skies.

img_4893img_4898img_5014img_4906

These were just some of my favourite architectural features, though there were many more to see. While Prague was incredibly touristy and at times seemingly not realistic, it was still enjoyable to see a different kind of architecture.

3 thoughts on “Prague: The Architecture

  1. I see why you love the Schwarzenberg Palace. It must have been considered quite avant garde in the 16th century. I find its geometric designs very appealing. It’s hard to choose a favorite among the doors you photographed, although I do love the red one Mom favored. So many unique designs. No wonder Prague is such a popular destination for people from all over the world.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

